Home Page

Overview of what is new in the Curriculum

What's New?

A new National Curriculum was introduced into schools from September 2014.

Below is a resume of the changes.



Stronger emphasis on vocabulary development, grammar, punctuation and spelling (for example, the use of commas and apostrophes is now taught in Key Stage 1).

Handwriting - not previously assessed under the national curriculum - is expected to be fluent, legible and speedy.

Spoken English has a greater emphasis, with children being taught debating and presenting skills.



Five year-olds are expected to learn to count up to 100 (compared to 20 under the old curriculum) and learn number bonds to 20 (previously up to 10).

Simple fractions (1/4 and 1/2) are taught from Key Stage 1, and by the end of Primary School, children should be able to convert decimal fractions to simple fractions (eg. 0.375 = 3/8).

By the age of nine, children will be expected to know times tables up to 12x12 (previously 10x10 by the end of Primary School).

Calculators will not be introduced until near the end of Key Stage 2, to encourage mental arithmetic.



Strong focus on scientific knowledge and language, rather than understanding the nature and methods of science in abstract terms.

Evolution is taught in Primary Schools for the first time.

Non-core subjects like caring for animals, has been replaced by topics like the human circulatory system.


Design and technology:

Afforded greater importance under the new curriculum, setting children on the path to becoming the designers and engineers of the future.

More sophisticated use of design equipment such as electronics and robotics.

In Key Stage 2, children learn about how key events and individuals in design and technology have shaped the world.



Computing replaces Information and Communication Technology (ICT), with a greater focus on programming rather than operating programs.

From age five, children learn how to write and test simple programs, and to organise, store and retrieve data.

From seven, they are taught to understand computer networks, including the internet.

Internet safety - previously taught from 11-16 - is taught in Primary Schools.



Previously not statutory, a modern foreign language or ancient language (Latin or Greek) will be mandatory in Key Stage 2.

Children will be expected to master basic grammar and accurate pronunciation and to converse, present, read and write in the language.


  • Bishop Winnington - Ingram Church of England Primary School,
  • Southcote Rise, Ruislip, Middlesex, HA4 7LW
  • Email:
  • Telephone:  01895 633520